Marco Docciolini 1601 Fencing treatise-handout

Below is a handout from a class on Docciolini that I have held a couple of times.

This is a Florentine manual, so much in the system, as well as words and concepts are similar to contemporary manuals.

Words and concepts

Braccio (plural braccia): Florentine unit of measure, 58,3 cm. Corresponds to approximately one-third of a contemporary man’s length, as well as the length of a normal step for that man.

Punto: Where you aim and usually attack. Most often the opponent’s right shoulder.

Sfalsata:  Change of line with the sword. In other manuals sometimes called cavare or cavazione.

 

Picture of his footwork

This is the only picture in his manual and it explains his footwork.

The radius of the inner circle should be a braccio, the outer two braccia.


Dirittura: The line from point A to point C.
Traverso: The line from A to E, A to G, respectively.  Notice that are two (right and left).

Footwork

The feet should usually be a braccio apart, the steps are of the same length. There are both lunging and passing steps.

In starting guard the right foot is usually on B, the toe pointing forward. Left foot on C, pointing left. The center of the left foot should be on the line dirittura, so the feet should be linear. The sword pointing at punto (see above). My interpretation is that it is the front of the foot (toes) that is on B.

Guards

There are two straight guards, high and low, as well as four counter guards, two low and two highs. The high and the low resemble each other. Feet usually as above.

Low guards

Right knee slightly bent, sword hand half a step (half braccio) in front of the knee. Right arm low, in line with right ear. The hand in line with the right knee. False edge on the sword upwards. The weight more on the left foot.

High guards

As above, but slightly closer together with your feet, straight knees. Sword hand extended at shoulder height.

Counterguards

On a slight angel against opponent, either to the left or right, depending on which angel the opponent’s sword is at. This is what he normally recommends.

Attack outside

If I want to attack my opponent on the outside, I make an lunge with my right foot and place it a foot width to the left of A and let my left foot be placed on G. To recover, I take my right back to F.

Attack inside

If I want to attack my opponent on the inside, I make an lunge an place my right foot a foot width to the right of A and let my left foot be placed on E. To recover, I take my right back to D.

My interpretation is that both of the attacks above are when an opponent advances to attack. If I want to attack first I do it in similar ways (more on that in another class).

 

This entry was posted in Fencing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment